Skip to main content

Office of Information Technology: records and publications

 Record Group
Identifier: A01.26

  • Staff Only
  • Please use the Collection Organization section below to place requests.

Scope and Content

This collection contains printed materials, including newsletters and "archived" electronic Website files.


  • Creation: 1992-


Access Rrestrictions

No restrictions.

Biographical/Historical Note

In 1965, the College appointed its first Director of the Computing Center to help students and faculty explore possible uses of computers in their fields. The Computing Center, then housed in Searles and later moved to the basement of Hubbard Hall, contained an IBM 1620 computer and punch-card input-output device. As computers became more ubiquitous, the Computing Center aimed to provide technology services and support to the Bowdoin community in support of its academic mission, formally changing its name to the Office of Computing and Information Services in 1995, then to the Office of Information Technology (IT) in 2003.


0.5 Linear Feet

Language of Materials


Guide to the Office of Information Technology Records and Publications
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives, Bowdoin College Library, Brunswick, Maine 04011 Repository

3000 College Station
Brunswick Maine 04011 USA
(207) 725-3288